Learning English Literature 1801 1870 and English Guide - Evaluations and Reviews


jefferson.village.virginia.edu/rossetti/
Project to create a multimedia hypertext archive of the works of the Pre-Raphaelite poet and painter Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882), which aims to hold a digital image of every textual and pictorial document relevant to the study of Rossetti.
  
bartleby.com/145/
Provides a chronological index and an index of first lines. Full text of Wordsworth's poetry, from Lucy Gray to The Prelude and To a Sky-Lark.
  
stormfax.com/dickens.htm
Full text of Victorian novel, A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens (1812-1870).
  
bartleby.com/126/
Includes an index of first lines. Full text of Keats' poems, with an introduction and notes by Francis Palgrave.
  
janeaustenmuseum.org.uk/
Offers information on the museum which is housed in Austen's former home in Chawton, Hampshire. Outlines the history of the author's life, and provides details of museum opening times, travel directions, and links to a number of Jane Austen societies thro
  
indiana.edu/~victoria/
Collection of resources associated with the scholarly study of the nineteenth century in Britain. Features information on archives for locating manuscript material, libraries and bibliographies for finding printed materials, planning research trips, journ
  
rc.umd.edu/editions/lel/keepcov.htm
Includes scholarly commentary and an annotated transcription of Letitia Landon's Verses and William Wordsworth's The Country Girl. Recreation of a 19th century popular anthology of illustrated poetry and prose.
  
bartleby.com/113/
Full text of Emily Dickinson's verse, with a short preface by Mabel Loomis Todd.
  
pemberley.com/janeinfo/pridprej.html
An example of how hypertext can assist literary studies.
  
lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~matsuoka/Gaskell.html
Includes electronic texts of her works, an articles on Gaskell Studies and the Internet, a biography, details of The Gaskell Society, portraits and illustrations. Information about the Victorian writer Mrs Gaskell (1810-65).
  
bibliomania.com/0/0/9/15/frameset.html
Full text of The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Bronte (1820-1849)
  
cs.cmu.edu/People/mmbt/women/bronte/bronte-anne.html
Biography, selected poems and bibliography of English writer Anne Bronte.
  
literature.org/authors/dickens-charles/cricket/
Full text of The Cricket on the Hearth by Charles Dickens (1812-1870).
  
bartleby.com/139/
Full text of Shelley's poems, with a biographical sketch and introductory notes by George Edward Woodberry.
  
dundee.ac.uk/english/hopkins.htm
Directory of resources on Gerard Manley Hopkins (1844-89), teaching resources, including links to societies, conferences, books and book reviews and book reviews, critical essays, an interactive concordance, and collections of his poetry.
  
free.freespeech.org/wcollins/
Titles include A Rogue's Life, The Black Robe, Fatal Fortune and The Frozen Deep. Collection of literary works by Victorian mystery writer Wilkie Collins (1824-1889), including short stories, novels, and books of short stories.
  
literaryhistory.com/
Offers a 'Guide to 19th Century English Literature' arranged by author, and includes articles on plagiarism and online publishing. Magazine for readers of English and American literature, providing access to critical articles published on the Web.
  
inform.umd.edu/EdRes/ReadingRoom/Fiction/Thackary/VanityFair/
Full text of the novel Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackary (1811-1863).
  
literature.org/authors/dickens-charles/chimes/
Full text of The Chimes, by Victorian author Charles Dickens (1812-1870).
  
englishhistory.net/keats.html
Profile of the English poet comprising a biography, portraits of himself and his family, a chronology (1795 - 1821), examples of his poetry including the odes of 1819 and a selection of sonnets and his family, and transcripts of letters written to Fanny Brawne among oth
  
Number of reviews is 20 - Courses in the English Language